Music and Problems

Canoes near the North Bridge, Concord MA

Hey folks, i hope your all having a great week so far. Last time i kind of talked about my mental issues…I probably shouldn’t define them because honestly i dont know what it is i guess…idk. Anyways today i wanted to talk about music and its messages. Music is a powerful communicator of a message whether it is a feeling, an idea, or just about anything. Music makes us feel, think, realize, remember past memories, evoke emotion from within us. Music is a powerful tool.

There are lots of songs out there that describe mental illness whether it is Bi Polar Disorder or Major Depression. There are tons of songs out there that just about anyone with a physiological issue can relate to. I can also relate to all of these songs.

Ok there are a lot of Matchbox 20 songs. Rob Thomas the lead singer of the band suffers from panic attacks. His songs are easily relatable to not only people with panic attacks but people with lots of other issues.

If Your Gone: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=clKAdQnwJ7A
” think I’m scared, I think too much
I know it’s wrong, it’s a problem I’m dealing”
If your gone has to do more with a relationship so its a good song for those recovering from a breakup or having issues in a relationship.

Bent: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=969RAKkYESU
“Can you help me I’m bent
I’m so scared that I’ll never
Get put back together
Keep breaking me in
And this is how we will end
With you and me bent

If I couldn’t sleep, could you sleep?
Could you paint me better off?
Could you sympathize with my needs?
I know you think I need a lot

I started out clean but I’m jaded
Just phoning it in
Oh, just breaking the skin”
Sorry that’s a lot of the lyrics there but that is as trimmed down as i could get it as most of the lyrics are great when it comes to anyone with issues. My view of it is a person with depression who is scared that he/she will never be able to get out of it (i know thats what i think about a lot when i am depressed). But also i think its about worrying about how it will effect the people around you, worrying about what they think if they think you are crazy or weird or hate you or whatever depending on who they are. The music video does a great job in my opinion of depicting being knocked down into depression so many times…especially when he is walking in slow mo on the street…if you have had depression or any mental issue (diagnosed or undiagnosed) you know it feels exactly like that.

Unwell: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WziA88-n02k
“All day staring at the ceiling
Making friends with shadows on my wall
All night hearing voices telling me
That I should get some sleep
Because tomorrow might be good for something

Hold on
Feeling like I’m headed for a breakdown
And I don’t know why

But I’m not crazy, I’m just a little unwell
I know right now you can’t tell
But stay awhile and maybe then you’ll see
A different side of me
I’m not crazy, I’m just a little impaired
I know right now you don’t care
But soon enough you’re gonna think of me
And how I used to be…me

I’m talking to myself in public
Dodging glances on the train
And I know, I know they’ve all been talking about me
I can hear them whisper
And it makes me think there must be something wrong with me
Out of all the hours thinking
Somehow I’ve lost my mind”

Sorry again a lot of lyrics but Unwell is probably the tied with Bent for being the best Matchbox 20 song that depicts depression or any mental issues. I personally can relate to each of these songs and each and every word in each of these songs. I love “Im not crazy im just a little unwell” my worst nightmare is that everyone finds out about my issues and everyone things im crazy, isolating me and plunging me deeper and deeper down which leads into my next song.

3 Doors Down, Away From The Sun: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DDK5qGlLT8s
“It’s down to this
I’ve got to make this life make sense
Can anyone tell what I’ve done
I miss the life
I miss the colours of the world
Can anyone tell where I am

‘Cause now again I’ve found myself
So far down, away from the sun
That shines into the darkest place
I’m so far down, away from the sun again
Away from the sun again

I’m over this
I’m tired of living in the dark
Can anyone see me down here
The feeling’s gone
There’s nothing left to lift me up
Back into the world I know”

This is a great song especially for people with depression. The lyrics most can easily relate to. “Cause i’ve found myself so far down away from the sun” and “I miss the colors of the world.” Anyone with depression knows that you feel like there is no color, only gray and you feel like there is no sun and all is hopeless. The music video is pretty straight forward depicting it but does an amazing job doing so.

Ok one last song…

Hurt Johnny Cash (Cover by Nine Inch Nails): http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=htmKZKR7oyc

This is a great song depicting cutters and cutting brought on by depression. It was originally done by Johnny Cash but the Nine Inch Nails cover is more emotional in my opinion.

Anyways there are some songs that i can relate to personally with mental issues. Got any other songs you relate to/ like to listen to when your feeling down? Comment with them and why/ your depiction of the song!

Leave a Reply

