Eye Contact

Direct eye contact scares the shit out of me. If i have ever looked at you i am probably looking at your nose or forehead or something else. I hate eye contact. If someone tries to make eye contact with me I quickly redirect my gaze somewhere else, away from them. I’m not really quite sure why I hate eye contact i just do. 

Maybe I feel like people will be able to see inside me and expose all my secrets. Maybe I worry about what they are going to think when I make eye contact with them…I think it is likely the former. 

I close myself off and try to hide my emotions from people. I don’t want people to know the secrets that live within my brain. When somebody looks at me in the eyes I kind of feel like a deer in headlights…caught, paralyzed, unsure of how to react. I feel vulnerable, like all the secrets that I try so hard to hide will start to pour out. 

Maybe I feel a bit like people are looking down on me and judging or pitying me….eh not really although that although that is a fear of mine.

I dont know, maybe i just dont like eye contact and it just naturally makes me uncomfortable…but just feeling uncomfortable would be normal. It scares the shit out of me, and i dont think that’s normal

Sorry bad post im just kind of thinking out loud here i guess…

2 thoughts on “Eye Contact

  1. I find making eye contact so difficult especially if I am talking about something serious. My boyfriend and i argue about it sometimes, he can’t understand why I can’t always make good eye contact, but Like you I stare at their nose it’s a good trick!

Leave a Reply

