I went down to the lake

I went down to the lake
to ponder
to imagine
to search
to live
to release
to forget

I dug my fingers in the sand
like I used to as a child
enjoying the sensation
of once dangerous boulders
now just harmless grains.

I ran from the angry waves
like I used to as a child
escaping the grasp
of the dark, raging water
now just gentle curls

I stood on the edge of the dock
like I used to as a child
above the water, peering down
into the deep, dark, unknown
now just a shallow sandbar

Maybe if I dig a little deeper
Maybe if I run a little further
Maybe if I stand a little closer
I’ll find it
Something in the sand
Something in the waves
Something in the water
to keep me going.

Leave a Reply

