“Navigating The Fog, My Journey To Accepting My Depression” – Coping: This is Who We Are Entry 11

My story, Thank you Paul for sharing my story! If you haven’t read it, go and read it! Then follow Dear Hope! It is an amazing site, you are not alone! 🙂

Dear Hope

I don’t really know how or why it all started. I can barely remember when it even started. I was so confused as to why this was happening, but for some reason it did. And now, here I am.

I didn’t understand why I could possibly be feeling this way.

Nothing was wrong in my life, after all.

16281354731_9e6790b5c2_z

Before, and even during my depressive episodes, I always thought that depression could only happen after some sort of serious traumatic event. But that’s not the case. I could go on and on about the stigma of mental illness, but that’s another story that could be discussed forever. The stigma, and the belief that depression isn’t something that just happens, prevented me from getting the help that I needed. For years, I beat myself up over feeling depressed and being suicidal. I told myself that I should just suck it up. After…

View original post 1,381 more words

Leave a Reply

