I would not recommend drinking while on Lithium

10 out of 10 would not recommend.

It was an interesting night to say the least. My goal was to get into that tipsy to a bit drunk state. I typically have a pretty high tolerance for alcohol, I am half Russian after all 😛 . Anyway I was just having a pretty chill night with a group of friends in my dorm room. Probably had the equivalent of about 8-10 shots within an hour and a half. A little fast but something I can typically handle. At about the 2 hour mark I started getting severe chest pains, then followed by stomach pains. And then soon after that the puking began. Luckily I had my friend there who is a pre nursing major, and she honestly did such an amazing job of taking care of me…like holy crap. I ended up throwing up about 5 or 6 times. During my various episodes of throwing up I was incredibly tired, weak, kept switching between hot sweats and cold chills, and had very blurry vision. During the day I didn’t drink much water and didn’t that night either.

With lithium you constantly have to stay hydrated, otherwise your lithium levels can spike in your body and cause lithium toxicity. Alcohol also tends to cause dehydration. The two combined? Not a good combo. While I know that 8-10 shots would tend to get a lot of people drunk, I have a pretty high tolerance, and while I was definitely a bit tipsy I was very coherent which is why I believe that it was lithium toxicity rather than just being drunk. It was an interesting experience for sure.

Although something happened that night that has me on edge. In between puking in the toilet a couple of my friends took off my shirt and sweater to get me a new t-shirt because I was sweating like crazy at the time. I cant remember if I posted it here or not but I’ve been cutting quite a bit over the last few weeks and while I didn’t have any fresh cuts they’re still pinkish and very noticeable. I’m pretty sure that 2 of my friends saw them. I tried hiding them once I realized that they were visible but its hard to hide when they’re rubbing your back when you’re throwing up and lifting you up and guiding you to your bed. One of those friends knows that I’m bipolar but doesn’t know that I cut. The other doesn’t know anything. I’m kind of freaking out over whether or not they saw them and if I should try to find out if they did. Ugh I don’t know what to do!

Sorry for the crappy writing ramble, i’m procrastinating on studying for finals. 9 days till I’m home!

2 thoughts on “I would not recommend drinking while on Lithium

  1. i know you posted this a while ago, but i haven’t really been on WP so i’m going back and reading your posts. just wanted to say as far as self-harm goes, punching the ever-living shit out of a punching bag helps me… it still hurts and sometimes fucks up your knuckles but it seems less destructive, more productive somehow… i used to punch walls (still sometimes do if i’m drunk and upset) but i think the punching bag thing is a little better. may not be a viable option but i thought i’d share

    i hope finals went well and going home was good 🙂 happy new year, a week or two late

    • Woah, yeah it’s been a long time since I’ve seen you on WP. That actually sounds like a good idea, I wish I actually had a punching bag around. Finals went well and being home, almost too great cause its making being back really really difficult. I might write a post about it later. Happy new year! I hope you’ve been well, its been a while!

Leave a Reply

